Home
Links
Member Login
 
 
 
Association Staff and Key Responsibilities
 
   View IHA Organizational Chart (pdf)
 
 
Brian Whitlock
President/CEO

Contact Brian at:
P: 208.489.1400
E: bwhitlock@teamiha.org
 
Key Responsibilities:

Lead spokesperson for Idaho Hospital Association; state and federal advocacy and legislative representation for IHA agenda on key political issues; leads the development of new policies and programs that serve membership; media communications; primary liaison with other health related organizations and business entities on hospital health care developments and issues; liaison and staff support to IHA board appointed committees.


Stacey Carson
Vice President Operations and Registry Services

Contact Stacey at:
P: 208.489.1401
E: scarson@teamiha.org
 
Key Responsibilities:

Facilitates strategic planning process and monitors progress and outcomes; operationalizes new initiatives; project management; develops and implements internal policies and procedures; coordinates information technology initiatives including network administration, security, and website; oversees registry services.


Larry Tisdale, MBA, FACHE
Vice President Finance

Contact Larry at:
P: 208.489.1402
E: ltisdale@teamiha.org
 
Key Responsibilities:

Medicare and Medicaid financial issues, including DSH & UPL, and liaison to associated governmental agencies; health care delivery reform; financial reporting through DataGems; HIPAA; liaison with Healthcare Financial Management Association.


Toni Lawson
Vice President Governmental Relations

Contact Toni at:
P: 208.489.1404
E: tlawson@teamiha.org
 
Key Responsibilities:

Coordinates state and federal advocacy efforts; directs the IHAPAC campaign; supervise Critical Access Hospital program, liaison to community organizations, business groups and Medicaid Medical.


Darin Atherton, MBA, BSN, RN, WCC, LBBH
Vice President Quality and Healthcare Transformation

Contact Darin at:
P: 208.489.1371
E: datherton@teamiha.org
 
Key Responsibilities:

Develop and deploy ongoing initiatives for IHA member hospitals to support healthcare transformation from volume to value and Partnerships for Patients initiatives such as the Hospital Improvement Innovation Network (HIIN). Provide technical support to hospitals with regard to efforts aimed at improving patient care quality and safety.


Toni Pugmire
Director of Education and Member Services

Contact Toni at:
P: 208.489.1409
E: tpugmire@teamiha.org
 
Key Responsibilities:

Plans and coordinates annual convention and other educational programs; serves on the planning committee for Western Regional Trustee Symposium; staff liaison to allied health care organizations. Maintains static content on IHA, WRTS, and other affiliated websites.


Darryl-lynn Oakes
Director of Communication and Executive Assistant

Contact Darryl-lynn at:
P: 208.489.1405
E: doakes@teamiha.org
 
Key Responsibilities:

Public relations, communication, board coordination, admin support for IHA president; membership communications; staff liaison for hospital volunteers and Idaho Society for Healthcare Marketing and Public Relations.


Shawnie Christensen
Director of Human Resources

Contact Shawnie at:
P: 208.489.1407
E: schristensen@teamiha.org
 
Key Responsibilities:

Workforce shortage; salary survey; IHA human resources; oversees Group Unemployment Compensation Program (GUCP), represents hospitals in unemployment hearings; consults on HR and unemployment; liaison to the Idaho Healthcare Human Resources Association.


Chris Johnson, MPH
Epidemiologist

Contact Chris at:
P: 208.489.1380
E: cjohnson@teamiha.org
 
Key Responsibilities:

Principal point of contact for CDRI; lead role in applications for federal funding; statistical analysis, publication, and communication of disease burden information; data linkage projects; geocoding; provides comparative data to hospital cancer committees; conducts data analysis and creates summary statistical reports for the IHA Salary Survey.


Denise Jozwik, RHIT, CTR
Director of Data Quality

Contact Denise at:
P: 208.489.1381
E: djozwik@teamiha.org
 
Key Responsibilities:

Supervises Cancer Data Registry of Idaho; training of hospital cancer registrars.


Regina Eck
Database Administrator

Contact Regina at:
P: 208.489.1390
E: eckr@teamiha.org
 
Key Responsibilities:

Assists with data quality, completeness, and timeliness activities pertaining to cancer reporting; manages SQL databases and software used by CDRI; writes management reports and conducts data linkages; assists with improving data collection mechanisms; leads implementation of electronic reporting from physician electronic health records in support of Meaningful Use Stage 2.


Wendi Blauvelt
Accounting/Payroll Specialist

Contact Wendi at:
P: 208.489.1408
E: wblauvelt@teamiha.org
 
Key Responsibilities:

Internal accounting and preparation of financial reports and records for IHA and affiliated grant funded programs; manages GUCP quarterly employment reports & contributions; property management.


Vicki Cate
Administrative Assistant

Contact Vicki at:
P: 208.489.1410
E: vcate@teamiha.org
 
Key Responsibilities:

Provides clerical support for IHA and CDRI; handles incoming telephone calls; provides support for AHA regional executive; coordinates participation in medical malpractice pre-litigation screening panels; assists with peer review program.


Patti Rose, RHIT, CTR
Data Quality & Collection Coordinator

Contact Patti at:
P: 208.489.1384
E: prose@teamiha.org
 
Key Responsibilities:

Maintain high quality, timely and complete data for the statewide cancer registry.


Shannon Makinen, B.S., RHIT, CTR
Data Quality & Collection Coordinator

Contact Shannon at:
P: 208.489.1383
E: smakinen@teamiha.org
 
Key Responsibilities:

Maintain high quality, timely and complete data for the statewide cancer registry.


Louvier Gomez, BS, CAISS
TSE Trauma Registrar and Database Specialist

Contact Louvier at:
P: 208.489.1393
E: lgomez@teamiha.org
 
Key Responsibilities:

Maintain high quality, timely and complete data for the statewide TSE registry.


Ed Bunnell
System Engineer

Contact Ed at:
P: 208.489.1395
E: ebunnell@teamiha.org
 
Key Responsibilities:

Oversee software, network, and data security and acts as the Association’s Security Officer


Karen Leach, RN
Quality Consultant

Contact Karen at:
P: 208.489.1406
E: kleach@teamiha.org
 
Key Responsibilities:

Provides technical support to hospitals with regard to efforts aimed at improving patient care quality and safety.


Nicole Hernandez
Program Specialist, HIIN

Contact Nicole at:
P: 208.489.1372
E: nhernandez@teamiha.org
 
Key Responsibilities:

Provides technical support to hospitals with regard to efforts aimed at improving patient care quality and safety. Responsible for project management surrounding strategic initiatives that support hospitals.


Tessa Morrison
Data Quality & Collection Coordinator

Contact Tessa at:
P: 208.489.1385
E: tmorrison@teamiha.org
 
Key Responsibilities:

Maintain high quality, timely and complete data for the statewide cancer registry.


Michelle Barnett, RHIT
TSE Registry Project Specialist

Contact Michelle at:
P: 208.489.1392
E: mbarnett@teamiha.org
 
Key Responsibilities:

Maintain high quality, timely and complete data for the statewide TSE registry.


Hannah Baca
HR Generalist

Contact Hannah at:
P: 208.489.1403
E: hbaca@teamiha.org
 
Key Responsibilities:

Ensures the timely management and responses on initial unemployment claims; assists with the development, distribution and compilation of the annual salary survey; and support for the director of human resources.


 
  Return to About IHA
About IHA
Staff
ByLaws
  Strategic Plan
Board of Directors
Regional Leadership Councils
Committees
Allied Organizations